The Rhythm of the Universe

I know I just wrote a blog entry about why I disagree with organized religion the other day, and maybe that has left some of you thinking I don’t believe in any sort of higher power, that we are all just born, live a life filled with random meaningless events that are decided upon by either our free will, someone else’s free will or coincidence then we die, decay and that’s the end…..

Far from it, for a long time I’ve had a sense that there is indeed an order to the universe, all life is meant to exist in balance, and everything is somehow connected, or in other words, Karma. Obviously the  human civilization has gotten to a point where the balance on the scale has tipped very far in one direction….maybe I’m a bit too idealistic, but I do believe that things will eventually get so bad that civilization is shaken into the opposite direction, that which ranks diplomacy and peaceful negotiation much higher than war and hate.

The global scale may not be the best representation to observe how things balance out evenly in life, it’s better to search for examples from your own life in which something that seemed negative ended up turning into something positive. I’m just going to take a really small example because I don’t want to turn my blog into stories about other people who have been in my life…..this isn’t the dirty.com lol.

I was travelling through Italy by myself last summer, when I was in Florence I decided to go to Pisa for a day. I was supposed to take the train back to Florence later in the afternoon but unexpectedly I had visited on the day of the festival of St. Renieri and there was a lot going on so I decided to stay later to see the fireworks. I planned to take the last bus back to Florence around 1 am. To my horror when I went to the station, more people had bought tickets than there were seats and there was a mob of angry Italians literally beating the s*&t out of each other attempting to get onto this bus. I didn’t want to get hurt so I didn’t even try, I thought maybe 200 euro cab ride would be an option, but nope….there were a few road closures due to the festival so cabs weren’t even really working. The next train was at 7am. I was almost sure I was  going to end up having to stay awake alone all night in the station, because hotels would likely be all full due to the festival. I tried the hotel across from the station anyway…..and they had one room left!! When I got back to my hotel in Florence I told the concierge about what happened to me, cause I’m pretty sure I looked like I was doing the walk of shame back into the building with my messed up make up and yesterdays outfit on. To my surprise he was so nice that he refunded me in cash for the night I didn’t sleep at the hotel despite all my stuff being in the room! So that’s my example on how things usually balance out evenly with all the various ups and downs.

Now for more on why I feel everything is connected and there is an order to things that happen, not just randomness and chaos….

I met up with my friend Simon for sushi last night and he had the idea to go to a bar in his area that he’s never been to before, so we went and the place had a really cool vibe. I noticed that one guy sitting near us was talking about Tanzania, and of course I had to join in the conversation because I’m going there in a few days!! I asked him about what he was doing over there and he climbed Kilimanjaro just like I’m going to be doing!! It was very cool to hear about another persons expereince, it was very encouraging and made me even more excited. He also told me about some other stuff I should see when I’m there.

Even more interesting, the guy who was sitting beside us on the other side had volunteered in Uganda years ago and now works as a consultant for not for profit companies helping them develop business plans, organize fund raisers and implement structure. I came up with an idea recently for a Not for profit organization that I will be starting up when I get back from my trip, he gave me some ideas on how to improve on my initial burst of inspiration and I have a great contact now for when I get back. I got some insight about not for profits that I never really expected. Apparently there’s a lot of competition and ego involved…..and here I was thinking everyone sees things as working together towards the same cause rather than “pffft, I raised more money than you! bow down!”

Last night definitely did not happen just by coincidence……I mean, what are the odds? Incidents like that of last night just show me that when you set out to do things that benefit not only yourself but the greater good, the universe will conspire with your efforts so it can happen.

I’m leaving on Saturday and so excited!! I waited last min to get all my shots because I’m scared of needles….I got three today and I seriously almost fainted! lol. I can imagine fearlessly jumping out of a plane, swimming with sharks, etc. etc. but a little pin prick from a needle scares me. I thought I was going to cry when I was sitting there waiting! 😐

I’m almost all packed, I’ve got a bunch of supplies for the kids I’m going to be working with, my mountain climbing stuff (warm coat, hiking boots etc.) I have some ideas of what I’m going to be doing while I’m not working, but for the most part I’m leaving up to spontaneity. I will be updating my blog as much as I can from Tanzania depending on if I have sufficient internet access.

I’m going to miss all of you!

xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

